EON is overcharging me and no one will give me a clear explanation

Level 5
    Horrible horrible horrible. This has given me anxiety and stress.

It all started when I requested for a credit refund since my account had over £300 CR and then suddenly E.on started CHARGING me with transactions and now I am left with a £300 DR.

At one point I even had over £1000 CR but then the next day, I had a £1700 DR. Since last December I noticed they have been taking "reversed previous charge" transactions from my account, and when I ask, no one provides me with concrete answers.

I am a fresh graduate living alone and I pay £100+ for electricity every month, some months I am away so I do not even use much, so how come I have been charged so excessively?

I tried calling and texting on their WhatsApp but no one thus far has given me a proper and clear explanation of these transactions. They kept saying look at the statements, but you have made the statements so confusing so how could I even understand? I told them my smart metre readings must be wrong, but they insist the readings are correct. I am afraid they are going to keep overcharging me and I can do nothing about it....

someone please please please please please help.
    Last edited by jorenejo; 06-01-24 at 09:06.
  • 32 Replies

Level 91
    @jorenejo

Sorry to hear of this distress.

More information will be needed about the nature of the transactions in order for anyone to offer best advice.

Can you post screenshots of transactions without showing any personal account information?

Do the latest meter readings on your account look sensible when considering your current meter readings?

You could try reading your meter and submitting the reading manually in your online account to generate a fresh statement with a reading you know to be correct and take it from there.
    I'm an Eon Next dual fuel customer with no particular expertise but have some time on my hands that I am using to try and help out a bit.