Solar panels

Level 2
    I’m new to solar panels so a complete novice. Does anybody have any advice? How much electricity is produced in the winter on a daily basis etc? Mine have been installed a week today and the meter says I’ve collected “6” I assume kWh. It sounds low when I have 8 large panels on my roof, but then it’s very dull weather. Not had my package as yet off the installers but I do know I’m to complete online forms for EON NEXT. Any information/advice would be received gratefully. Many Thanks
  • 10 Replies

Level 92
    @Mandy1954

Asking how much energy a solar setup can produce is dependent on a lot of factors. Peak Power of the installed system, orientation of the panels and prevailing weather conditions for starters. Daily generation can vary wildly so there's no way of really telling you what you can or should expect. Daily production doesn't really tell you much, but you really need to take a long view and work out your generation over an annual period as there is so much variation from day to day as well as between seasons.

You should have had a site survey done as part of the installation and that should give you a rough annual estimate for the system. But each day is different. My microsolar generated more power in the last five days as it did for the whole of January. I got more power in September than I did in July despite July being mid-summer and theoretically the peak period.

Sure, track the performance on a daily or weekly basis if you wish to, but systems are normally specced on an annual generation basis. Commercially installed solar systems usually use poly or mono panels which perform well in good sunny weather conditions but aren't at their optimum when it gets really hot in summer and drop off massively in cloudy or dull weather. So you might get bright clear days in March or October when they perform nicely and yet they don't seem to be quite as good in a hot August.