Can EON force me from E10 to E7 ?

View Tag Cloud
    Level 4
    Interested in views on whether energy suppliers who insist installing smart meters to replace their standard E10 meters are allowed to force customers to accept a more costly smart tariff ?
  • 10 Replies

Level 78
    Suppliers have discretion over the tariffs they offer as its a business decision. They're not required to support E10
    Just another guy passing by... The unknown tech way...
    Pete is an IHD Tariff Update Robot! 🤖 Anasa is a Giant Enemy Robot Spider 🕷 🤖 Hannah is neither! Need Customer service? click here! Replacement IHD Guide? Here it is!
    Level 77
    I'm not an expert but it looks more like supply and demand. E10 seems to be a little more complex than E7. In some cases, I see charges are made for supplying and fitting E10 meters. It's like most things if there's a particular product (product in this case being a specific tariff), or brand that you want, it's finding a retailer/supplier that stocks it.
    Level 91
    @WizzyWiggWhile I think you are correct, isn’t it a bit strange that smart meters are not supported for E10, but can support EV tariffs.

I wonder whether the OFGEM price cap regime has a bearing on the matter and is influencing supplier attitudes.
    Current Eon Next and EDF customer, ex Zog and Symbio. Don't think dual fuel saves money and don't like smart meters. Chronologically Gifted. If I offend let me know by private message, but I’ll continue to express my opinions nonetheless.
    Level 77
    @meldrewreborn
    I'm sure that OFGEM are influencing suppliers. There seems to be very few entertaining E10.
    Level 78
    It's probably also worth noting that E10 is a legacy tariff type that suppliers mostly seem to want to get rid of. There MAY be one or two out there who'll keep supporting it, but I cannot make promises.