Thoughts and Experiences on Driving an EV

Level 8
    I have been leasing a Hyundai Kona EV for the last three years and have been thoroughly satisfied with the experience so far. The car is a delight to drive.
    The primary reason for leasing rather than purchasing was:

1. High Price of the vehicles
    2. New technology with limited data on battery design and life and recalls.
    3. Fast progression of battery technology to improve design and charging times and range.
    4. Data on depreciation which is nullified by leasing.
    5. All maintenance costs are included in the leasing contract.
    6. Higher specification cars are more affordable.

Charging Point:
    I am fortunate that my house has a private driveway so I could easily accommodate a charging point. I was also able to take advantage of a government grant which significantly reduced the cost.
    The Car:
    The car is a Hyundai Kona Premium SE with a 64kWh Battery (204BHP) with 7kw Charger with a 300-mile range.
    The car is of high specification with such things as emergency braking assist, lane assist, front and rear facing cameras and blind spot warning lights in the rearview mirrors and the like.
    However, with concerns over the range of electric vehicles one of the most useful features is the three-setting recuperative charging. This feature uses the vehicle braking and normal slowing down to put charge back into the battery on the move. The settings increase the charge rate to a maximum where the charging almost does all the braking for you (good around town). The settings can be changed while on the move via paddles behind the steering wheel.
    On a recent journey to mid Wales, I managed to put a charge back into the battery equivalent to 25 miles on each leg of the journey on the minimum setting.
    The inbuilt Sat Nav does indicate the nearest charging point while on the move.