Gas meter not sending readings & need IHD

Level 6
    My gas meter isn’t sending readings but my electricity meter is working fine. I’m not an expert hence I’m on here looking for help but I am led to believe that the gas meter is a slave to the electric meter and needs to connect to this to send the readings. I have been told that the electric meter firmware is out of date.

Is it correct that the gas meter is a slave to the electric?
    Could the firmware be the problem and how can I get the firmware updated?

On a separate issue I live in a new build and the friendly installation company never left me an IHD can you purchase these separately?
  • 41 Replies

• Best Answer

Level 91
    Best Answer
    @silverfox55

I don't have any axe to grind with eon next over smart meters and their in house displays. I've never had either!. But the smart meter initiative stems from government, having been initiated in 2011. See this link:
    UK smart meter rollout – bungled, woeful, promising or successful? (smart-energy.com)

The rollout is nowhere near complete and opinion on the benefits are being actually realised (rather than theoretical models) is mixed. Businesses and organisations like Local authorities are apparently enthusiastic.

But according to this link we only installed smart technology to the 10 millionth household in November 2021. Remember there are 28 Million UK households!!!
    The UK connects 10 millionth household to DCC's smart meters network (smart-energy.com)
    To quote:
    "In addition to the 10 million households connected to the network, 41 million devices including smart meters, in-home displays, communications hubs, and smart energy control devices are connected to the network.A total of 16.3 million smart meters are using the system for data telemetry of which some 6.4 million are first-generation and 9.9 million are second-generation smart meters."