3-phase Smart Meter installs in UK - when will they happen?

Level 1

When will 3-phase smart meters be available?

I wanted to start this thread to ask the question and capture any useful information in one place as it seems to be rare in the UK to have a domestic 3-phase supply. I realise that not many people are in the same situation as me.

I've been asking for many many years - six or seven at least - over four different suppliers about getting a smart meter installed for the 3-phase supply to my larger house, but it's still nowhere in sight even though it's been promised since at least 2018.

This tantalising story and video from August 2020 shows that it is possible in the UK, but the person in the story was an employee of the power supplier which obviously helps.

The current answer is that a 3-phase smart meter is not available.

What is 3-phase?

In case you're wondering what 3-phase is and why is it needed, please let me explain briefly. The usual single-phase 240V supply in most people's houses is good to supply up to 60amps, allowing about 14kW of power (240 x 60 = 14400) to be supplied at one time. In practice this means an electric shower and some electric heating. But if you add another electric shower or you want to charge an electric car then your peak demand for electricity might be higher than 14kW.